CECAFA cup draw announced

The council of east and central Africa football Associations (CECAFA) has on Friday announced the draw of this year’s senior challenge cup to be hosted in Kenya.

CECAFA Secretary General Nicholas Musonye
According to the draw, 12 participating respected national teams were divided into three groups. The sole country outside CECAFA which is shown in the draw is Zambia, while Djibouti doesn’t appear in the draw.
The three groups, each consisting of four national teams are as follows:
GROUP A- Kenya, Ethiopia, Zanzibar, South Sudan
GROUP B- Tanzania, Zambia, Burundi and Somalia
GROUP C- Uganda, Rwanda, Sudan and Eritrea.
The war-ravaged Somalia is in group (B) with Tanzania, Burundi and Zambia which is the sole team outside the CECAFA region. Another war-weary country South Sudan is in group A with Ethiopia, Kenya and Zanzibar, while the rest will play in group C.
According to CECAFA Secretary General Nicholas Musonye, the fixtures of the competition will be issued next week.
By Shafi’i Mohyaddin Abokar
CECAFA Media committee